Skip to content

Get News & Updates

Latest News RSS

President Barack Obama Includes Aretha Franklin’s, Amazing Grace, Among His Favorite Films of 2019


Aretha Franklin’s AMAZING GRACE was among President Barack Obama’s favorite movies for 2019. See repost from @barackobama IG: Next up are my favorite movies and TV shows of 2019. This year’s list includes everything from explorations of class dynamics and relationships, to an inspired reboot of a classic graphic novel, to a portal back to one of the most special places in history — an Aretha Franklin concert. Of course, there’s also American Factory, a film from our own production company, Higher Ground, that was recently shortlisted for an Oscar. It’s our first offering in partnership with Netflix, and I’m excited about the other projects we’ve got in the works.

Watch Aretha Franklin’s Rendition of “O Tannenbaum”

“Video of Aretha Franklin’s stunning solo piano rendition of the yuletide classic ‘O Tannenbaum’ – performed in 2015 at New York’s Jazz at Lincoln Center – has been released for the first time.” – RollingStone

To read more click here.

Courtney B. Vance To Play Aretha Franklin’s Father in ‘Genius’

“‘It’s an honor to join the Genius: Aretha team, and to bring to life the magnificent story of the Queen of Soul, an amazing woman who my wife, Angela, and I loved dearly,’ Vance said Thursday in a statement. ‘Aretha’s father, C.L. Franklin, had a profound impact on her trajectory from a girl in a gospel choir to a global phenomenon — both in a good way and a bad way.'” – Hollywood Reporter

To read more, click here.